All of our products are Gluten Free except for these items:
Mole Poblano Seasoning
River Road Dirty Rice Seasoning
River Road Seafood Pasta Seasoning
River Road Chicken Fettuccine Seasoning
River Road Etouffee Seasoning
In 2007, FDA proposed to allow manufacturers to label a food “gluten-free” if the food does not contain any of the following:
- an ingredient that is any type of wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of these grains
- an ingredient derived from these grains and that has not been processed to remove gluten
- an ingredient derived from these grains and that has been processed to remove gluten, if it results in the food containing 20 or more parts per million (ppm) gluten
- 20 ppm or more gluten
The majority of our items are considered gluten free, according to the definition above. However, a few of our items do contain the ingredient wheat flour, which contains the wheat gluten. The items listed above are those in our product line that are affected by the wheat gluten.
The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004requires all food manufacturers to properly label any allergens that may be present in their product. The allergens that fall under this Act include milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, soybeans and wheat. To comply with this act, any of our products that contain these items shall be labeled with "Contains" followed by the allergen present. This is located following the ingredients statement.