Gluten Free Products

All Fiesta and River Road items are gluten free EXCEPT:

Duros
Enchilada Seasoning
Mole Seasoning
River Road Dirty Rice Seasoning
River Road Seafood Pasta
River Road Chicken Fettuccine
River Road Etouffee
All of our individual spices and dehydrated vegetables are considered to be gluten free.

Bolner’s Fiesta Products is an SQF level II Certified Company. We take pride in the safety and quality of our products, and take strict measures to prevent the cross contamination of allergen ingredients to non allergen products. We abide not only to the FDA Code of regulations regarding our handling of allergens, but also to those regulations set fourth by the Safe Quality Foods (SQF) Institute.

For more information on SQF, visit Here

For FDA regulations on Allergens, visit Here

In 2004, the FDA passed the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA). This act requires that the label of a food that contains an ingredient that is or contains protein from a “major food allergen” declare the presence of the allergen in the manner described by the law. FALCPA identifies eight foods or food groups as the major food allergens. They are milk, eggs, fish (e.g., bass, flounder, cod), Crustacean shellfish (e.g., crab, lobster, shrimp), tree nuts (e.g., almonds, walnuts, pecans), peanuts, wheat, and soybeans. If one of these items are contained in our product, they will be clearly identified following the product’s ingredient statement.
In 2013, the FDA defined the labeling of “Gluten Free” for food manufacturers. According to the FDA, Gluten is defined as the protein that occurs naturally in wheat, rye, barley, and crossbreeds of these grains. In general, foods may be labeled “gluten-free” if they meet the definition and otherwise comply with the final rule’s requirements. More specifically, the final rule defines “gluten-free” as meaning that the food either is inherently gluten free; or does not contain an ingredient that is:

1. A gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt wheat);

2. Derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour); or

3. Derived from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat starch), if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 parts per million (ppm) or more gluten in the food. Also, any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food must be less than 20 ppm.

For more information on Gluten Free, please visit:
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/Allergens/ucm362880.htm

The majority of our items are considered gluten free, according to the definition above. However, a few of our items do contain the ingredient wheat flour, which contains the wheat gluten. The items listed above are those in our product line that are affected by the wheat gluten.